The Oak Club, founded in January of 2005, has a long and rich history at Harvard. Current membership and alumni are the remnants of the Delta Upsilon Fraternity chapter, which was reinstated on Harvard's campus in March of 1999. Delta Upsilon (DU), a non-secret international men's fraternity founded on November 4, 1832 at Williams College is a unique social organization. Unlike other fraternities, it does not have secret principles, rituals, or activities.
Delta Upsilon on Harvard's campus dates back to the late 1890s when the Delta Upsilon Fraternity established a chapter. In the 1940s, the chapter became a private Final Club, just as many of the other Harvard fraternities did. As a private group, the DU Club formerly occupied 45 Dunster Street. In 1995 the DU Club closed.
In March of 1999, then senior Justin Porter and six Harvard sophomores including Chris King, Jeremiah Mann, Mike Tringe, John Moore, Michael Green and Alejandro Longoria first met to discuss reinstituting the Harvard Delta Upsilon Fraternity chapter. Alumni of the original Harvard chapter as well as alumni of the DU Club supported the resurgence. The DU chapter was publicly installed in May of 1999, but chose to privatize in 2005. The name of the newly private organization became The Oak Club.
Today, The Oak Club consists of around 35-40 members and a growing alumni base of over 100 young men. The Oak Club as it exists today still embodies many of the original DU principles which honor the promotion of friendship, the development of character, the diffusion of liberal culture and the advancement of justice. To learn more about our members, visit the Membership Profile.